How to Cancel Shopify Account Or Pause Shopify Store?

14:46
66
-
Like this post? Rate it:
Related CMS:

If you are a Shopify store owner, or even if you have an active Shopify account and want to close it completely or pause your store for the time being, this article is for you.

In here, we will have a look at how to cancel Shopify account in a few simple steps.

To be able to close your Shopify account correctly, it is necessary that you contact all the concerned third-party service providers that your store might be using.

If you are wondering how to delete Shopify account, you would need to do it manually. Shopify support would not be able to close the store for you.

Here is a quick checklist which will help you in closing your account:

  • Contact any third-party service providers and let them know that you’re closing your account.
  • Make sure that there are no dues on your account. However, in case you do, Shopify will provide you with a final bill including all the fees. If there is no outstanding amount, then Shopify will not provide any bill.
  • It is essential that you cancel all the apps that your store used prior to pausing your Shopify store, or else, you will continue to be getting charged from them.
  • However, you do not need to take any action if you are on a free trial and have not chosen any pricing plan yet. It is worth mentioning here that if you pause your store during the free trial, you would not be able to extend your free trial period. Put differently, if you resume your trial account after your trial period has expired, you would need to select a paid plan to make your store work again.

Pausing Your Shopify Store

There is a significant difference between pausing your Shopify store and closing it completely. When you choose to pause your Shopify store, all it would do is disable the checkout. But your store would still continue to run at a reduced cost.

This essentially means that the customers would still be able to go through your products, but they cannot purchase them. Further, you even have access to Shopify admin, and you can even choose to edit your products if you need to.

If you want to pause your Shopify store, we would highly recommend you to uninstall any third party apps to avoid getting charged even when your store is paused.

One of the best parts of pausing your Shopify store is the fact that you would be able to use it anytime again. All you would need to do is choose a new Shopify plan and you are done.

Here is how can pause your Shopify store:

  • Log in your store as the owner.
  • Visit Shopify admin > Settings > Account
  • Next, go to the Store Status page and click on Pause Store.
  • Read the terms and conditions, and if you agree with them, click on Pause Store.

This way, your store will be paused. However, it will still be running, although at a reduced cost. You can then choose to unpause it at any time in the future again.

Unpausing Your Shopify Store

If you want to start selling the products again, here is how you can resume your Shopify store again.

  • Log in to your Shopify store.
  • Select a plan that you would like to go with.
  • Once you select the plan, your account will be unpaused automatically.

Closing Your Shopify Store

If you do not plan to run your online store any time again in the future, the best way here is to close it so that you do not incur any additional fee. Once you choose to close your store, you would not be able to access Shopify admin.

However, you can still log back in by entering your credit card details. This would reactivate your store. It is worth mentioning here that if you delete your online store, you would not be able to run your online store in the future with the same .myshopify URL or store name.

Here are a few things that you must take care of before closing your Shopify store, and these include:

  • Uninstall any third-party tools and apps with recurring charges to avoid getting billed even when you have closed your store.
  • Transfer the custom domain that you purchased for Shopify to another provider.
  • Remove the custom domain that you purchased from a third-party. If you do not do this, you might not be able to use it for another website or store.
  • If you plan to move your domain to a new platform on closing your Shopify store, keep in mind that the HTTP Strict Transfer Security (HSTS) policy of Shopify would remain in effect for 90 days. However, you would not need to worry if you move the domain to an HTTPS-enabled platform. If not, then your customers will continue to see an error message in their browser which states that the site is no trusted or that the certificate is not valid.

If you want to know how to cancel my Shopify subscription, here is what you need to do:

  • Log in your store as the owner.
  • Visit Shopify admin > Settings > Account
  • Next, go to the Store Status page and click on Close Store.
  • Read the terms and conditions, choose the reason why you are closing the store and then click on Close Store.

It is important to mention here that if due to change of mind, you want to reopen your store within 30 days of its closure, you can still do it and Shopify assures that all of your store’s configuration and data will be preserved.

We hope this article would have provided you with the answer of how to close a Shopify store. Got any queries? Write to us in the comments below.

RSS
No comments yet. Be the first to add a comment!
Loading...